Date First Published: 27th January 2023
Topic: Web Design & Development
Subtopic: Web Development
Article Type: Computer Terms & Definitions
Difficulty: MediumDifficulty Level: 5/10
Learn more about what conversion rate is in this article.
Conversion rate is the percentage of users that have performed a desired action on a website (a conversion). For example, if 100 people bought a product on an ecommerce website and there were a total of 500 visitors, the conversion rate would be 20%.
Tracking conversion rates is important because it allows the performance of webpages and ads to be measured and identifies areas for improvement. A high conversion rate indicates successful marketing and web design and that people like what the website or ad offers, whilst low conversion rates suggest that the site is making it difficult for people to complete tasks or that the offers are too expensive or not valuable enough for the audience. Conversion rate is an important key performance indicator for online businesses.
Conversion rate can be calculated using this formula:
Number of conversions ÷ Total number of visitors x 100
For example, if 50 people bought a product on an ecommerce website and there were a total of 440 visitors, the conversion rate would be calculated like this:
50 ÷ 440 x 100 = 11.36% conversion rate
A good conversion rate is above 10%. However, the conversion rate of online businesses will constantly change with some only ranging from 2% to 5%.
The factors that can affect conversion rates include:
The main difference between conversion rate and click-through rate is that conversion rate measures the percentage of the number of people that complete a desired action on a website, such as filling out a contact form, purchasing a product, signing up for a newsletter, or sharing a post on social media and click-through rate measures the percentage of visitors that click on an online ad and are directed to the advertiser's website. Conversions and click-throughs are very different. A conversion is not limited to clicking through an ad and more clicks will eventually lead to more conversions.
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