This is the first quiz about the web design & development topic. All 40 questions in this quiz are covered in the articles.
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Question 1
The correct answer is: a: A collection of publicly accessible, related webpages held together under one domain name.
Option B is incorrect as that is a webpage.
Option C is incorrect as that is a domain name.
Option D is incorrect as that is an ecommerce business.
Question 2
The correct answer is: c: Managing the look, feel, layout, visual appearance, usability, and theme of a website.
Options A, B, and D are incorrect as a web designer is not involved in the databases and programming aspects of creating a website and is not a programmer.
Question 3
The correct answer is: d: Nothing
Getting pages indexed by a search engine and appearing in the organic search results does not cost money. It only costs money to appear in the paid ads above the search results.
Question 4
The correct answer is: b: The search results that display below the ads.
The search results that display below the ads are the organic search results, also known as the earned results. These results are basically free website traffic.
Question 5
The correct answer is: d: Backlinks
Options A, B, and C are incorrect as they are on-page SEO factors.
Question 6
The correct answer is: a: Bounce rate
Options B, C, and D are incorrect as those are all direct Google ranking factors.
Question 7
The correct answer is: a: Webpages are automatically adapted to the visitor’s screen size and width without user interaction.
Question 8
The correct answer is: c: In the local web browser.
Cookies are always stored in the local web browser.
Question 9
The correct answer is: b: To prevent the website from becoming overloaded with elements.
Question 10
The correct answer is: a: JavaScript
Options B, C, and D are incorrect as they are all server-side scripting languages.
Question 11
The correct answer is: d: They can lead to limited flexibility in terms of design.
In terms of design, the use of CMSes can lead to limited flexibility. Especially when using predesigned templates, some CMSes, such as Wix do not allow users to directly edit the HTML code of the website itself. Using a CMS will provide users with less control over how their website looks and functions compared to hand-coding a website.
Option A is incorrect as CMSes often come with support.
Option B is incorrect as most of them are only accessible to a wide range of devices.
Option C is incorrect as a CMS is designed to simplify the process of building a website, not make it more complex.
Question 12
The correct answer is: b: False
It is the other way around. Web scraping is more targeted and specific than web crawling. Web scrapers might only be after specific pages or websites, whilst web crawlers will continuously follow hyperlinks to other pages and crawl them. Web scrapers don't usually consider the load they put on servers.
Question 13
The correct answer is: a: In the early development stage of a website.
A website wireframe is a blueprint created in the early development stage of a website, used for giving an idea about the structure and design of a website before any code is written. They are unlikely to be used after any code is written.
Question 14
The correct answer is: b: How high the page ranks in the search results.
Although a higher search engine ranking will increase the chances of people clicking through the search results to a website, it is unlikely that it would increase the chances of conversions because that is on an external site. But, it does indirectly affect conversions in that it the more users that click through, the more chances of conversions.
Options A, C, and D are all examples of factors that will directly affect conversion rates.
Question 15
The correct answer is: c: Commercial intent
Question 16
The correct answer is: b: 2%
The click-through rate is 2%. The calculation is:
40 ÷ 2000 x 100 = 2.0% click-through rate
Question 17
The correct answer is: a: True
Question 18
The correct answer is: a: Less competition than short-tail keywords.
Using long-tail keywords is helpful when a specific keyword that a business or individual wants to rank for is too competitive since there will definitely be fewer websites ranking for that long-tail keyword.
Question 19
The correct answer is: a: It can help increase trust and engagement.
Option B is incorrect as there is always a risk of negative content. Anyone with access to the site can post user-generated content.
Option C is incorrect as user-generated often does need to be moderated to ensure that it is not harmful or against the terms of use.
Option D is incorrect as user-generated content offers no such guarantee.
Question 20
The correct answer is: d: It is regularly updated by an individual or small group of individuals.
Option A is incorrect as blogs offer no such guarantee.
Option B is incorrect as that is a wiki. Blogs usually only have one person or a team of people that have admin access to edit or create new posts.
Option C is incorrect as not all blogs are based on user-generated content.
Question 21
The correct answer is: d: All of the above
Options A, B, and C are all examples of ways to make a website more accessible.
Question 22
The correct answer is: c: The overall user experience of a webpage.
Core web vitals are metrics used by Google to measure the overall user experience of a webpage. Core web vitals measures three main things, which are the page loading speed, layout shifts, and visual stability.
Question 23
The correct answer is: a: HTML
Option B is incorrect as that stands for Lightweight Directory Access Protocol and is used for accessing directory information over the internet.
Option C is incorrect as that stands for Cascading Stylesheets and is a stylesheet language used to define how HTML elements are displayed in a web browser.
Option D is incorrect as that stands for Hypertext Transfer Protocol and is used for transmitting information between web browsers and servers over the World Wide Web.
Question 24
The correct answer is: b: CSS stylesheets must be created as a separate file and cannot be embedded into a webpage.
Options A, C, and D are all true statements about CSS.
Question 25
The correct answer is: c: W3C
The W3C is an organisation responsible for developing standards, guidelines, and protocols for the World Wide Web in order to ensure the long-term growth of the Web and lead it to its full potential.
Question 26
The correct answer is: a: Repeating as many keywords as possible on a page in the hope of it ranking higher for them.
This is an example of an unethical SEO technique that will most likely lead to penalties by search engines, such as Google. It is known as keyword stuffing.
Option B is incorrect as that is what is likely to help a website rank higher in the search results.
Option C is incorrect as it is less likely to lead to penalties. Although duplicate content very rarely leads to penalties by search engines (unless a website is intentionally copying content from other websites), it can lead to SEO issues as it can cause confusion for search engines as to which identical page should appear at the top of the search results page.
Option D is incorrect as that is a reciprocal link and does not result in penalties by search engines.
Question 27
The correct answer is: d: Yoast
Yoast is not an example of a search engine and does not provide any services to search the Web. It is an SEO plugin for WordPress.
Options A, B, and C are all examples of major search engines.
Question 28
The correct answer is: a: True
Dynamic websites are slower than static websites due to their higher server requirements. This is because they have to request data from an external resource, such as a database. All of these requests will increase the loading time and require more system resources.
Question 29
The correct answer is: a: The server log data.
Server log data is usually stored on the server and not publicly accessible, so a website audit is very unlikely to be able to analyse this data.
Options B, C, and D are all examples of things that a website audit usually analyses a website for.
Question 30
The correct answer is: d: There is no minimum amount
Search engines do not have a minimum amount of words that a page must have to rank and word count is not a ranking factor.
Question 31
The correct answer is: c: A large website with thousands of pages.
Search engines might have trouble finding all the pages, which is why an XML sitemap would be most suitable for this website.
Options A and B are incorrect as these types of websites are less likely to need an XML sitemap.
Option D is incorrect as a single-page website is least likely to need an XML sitemap.
Question 32
The correct answer is: d: There is no referring source or website.
Direct traffic is defined as traffic with no referring website or source.
Option A is incorrect as that is where organic traffic comes from.
Option B is incorrect as that is where referral traffic comes from.
Option C is incorrect as that is where paid traffic comes from.
Question 33
The correct answer is: b: Impressions
Option A is incorrect as just because an ad or a piece or content has been loaded doesn't mean that it has got a click-through.
Option C is incorrect as hits measure the total number of files downloaded from a web server, not the amount of times the content has been loaded or viewed.
Option D is incorrect as that is a measure of the percentage a server has been up and running.
Question 34
The correct answer is: d: All of the above
These are all examples of website content.
Question 35
The correct answer is: c: Backend and frontend development
Question 36
The correct answer is: a: index.html
Question 37
The correct answer is: a: True
When using a contact form, the site owner's email address is never visible on a website, making it impossible for it to be scraped by spambots. But, this does not prevent all spam as it can still come through contact forms, but it will make it much more difficult to send spam.
Question 38
The correct answer is: b: No more than 3
Google's web crawlers are unlikely to browse pages over three clicks from the homepage unless the website is considered to be extremely authoritative
Question 39
The correct answer is: a: Stability
Options B, C, and D are all examples of web design principles.
Question 40
The correct answer is: d: Breadcrumb trail
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